top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehikarikawai7766

A little bit about me...

Updated: Apr 10, 2020

Hi! My name is Hikari Kawai. I was born in Japan and lived there until I was seven years old, then my family moved to the States, Oregon. I really enjoy hiking, traveling and going on adventures! One of my biggest passions is photography, which sparked when I took a film photography class in my first year of high school. After that, I became involved in my high school's newspaper class in which I mostly spent my time on photo assignments covering sports to other school events.


I took a GAP year between 2018-2019 abroad in New Zealand and Nepal. So this is my very first term of college. My major is Journalism/ Mass Communication. I hope to dual enroll at OSU and double major with Cultural Anthropology.


I choose this class because I am passionate about documentary photography. Some of my goals for this class is to become a better storyteller. I also hope to push more out of my comfort zones as for going to get the photos I want, it's a bit of a struggle sometimes. Lastly, I really hope to improve the way I go about taking more interesting angled photographs and captioning the photos creatively and accurately.


Side Note:

I handed my camera to this little adorable Nepali girl, and showed her how to take a picture and this was one of the results. :)






47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page